Are You Going to Change Your Travel Plans?

Our hearts go out to citizens of Brussels as well as the rest of Belgium.  We are still reeling from what happened in Paris last Fall.  It’s made some of us question our travel style and whether it will make any impact on our desire to travel.

paris brussels

This past June, we flew out of the Brussels Airport and we are scheduled to fly out of it this Fall.  Will the events the other day make me change my mind about flying out of this airport?  Absolutely not.

After our river cruise in the early fall, we’ll be in Paris, riding the metro, going to high visibility tourist attractions.  We are not renting a car but rather doing our touring through public transportation.  Will I worry and wonder if something will happen…..probably.  Will it stop me – not at this time.  We may alter when we do certain activities.  Perhaps go to the Eiffel Tower very early in the morning or very late at night.  Instead of the metro, maybe we’ll take buses.  We’ll also be in Bruges, Ghent and Brussels.  France and Belgium, at least this year, seem to be the “hot spots” for terrorism.

I find that a lot of people ask me if I worry about terrorism when I travel and honestly, up to now I haven’t.  Blogger Hubby and I were planning our first European vacation for June 2002 but then 9/11 happened and I got very nervous.  Living outside of Washington DC I had conjured up so many different scenarios that I wasted a lot of time worrying.  I packed an emergency bag for school (I worked in an elementary school) in case we got stranded there due to attacks, I had an emergency bag in my car and I had a big emergency box at home.  I made so many preparations just in case.  I felt uncomfortable going to Europe so instead we did an Alaskan cruise.  Nothing did happen and I missed out on an opportunity. That missed opportunity taught me to not do something because “something” could happen.

We will continue to make plans for our trip, try not to let the world events affect us but yet be so ever vigilant and, to a due, cautious and aware of our surroundings.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

