Barclay’s Arrival World MasterCard

Thanks everyone for staying with me.  I know that I haven’t posted much since the past few weeks.  Between family get togethers, having a new grandbaby and then having a sinus infection for three long days I’m finally feeling like I can get my life back on track.     Jane

Most of the credit card offers that I have written about in the past have been with credit card partners where you redeem a certain number of points for a fixed value.  Let me explain, if I was going to redeem my Ultimate Reward points with United I know that 25,000 miles would get me a roundtrip cross country trip in economy; I know that 22,000 points with Hyatt would get me one night at a category 5 hotel.

Other credit cards are what we call Revenue Based.  What that means is that the points convert into dollars and you can then apply them against your travel.  The more you spend, the more points you’ll have that will equal money for you to apply against your charges.  Going back to my cross country trip on United – that flight might cost me $569.  With the revenue based credit cards, I would need 56,900 points for that same ticket.  That generally is something that I would not want to waste that many points on UNLESS I had to be at a specific place and there were no award seats available on my flight to book for the 25,000 miles.  With revenue based, there is no blackout dates AND you are credited for the miles flown.

We had a revenue based card, the Capital One Venture card and only used it twice.  The first time was when we were in Singapore last year and stayed at a hotel that was not part of a loyalty club.  The hotel was in a great location and was highly recommended by our travel agent.  We paid the bill with our Venture card and when we came home we used their “Purchase Eraser” to deduct the points against the charge.

barclaycard

Barclay has a new card that is generating some talk – it is the Barclaycard Arrival World MasterCard.  In fact, Blogger Hubby got his in November.  He received 40,000 points (that equal to $400) after spending $1000 in 90 days.  What makes this card different than other Revenue based credit cards is that you get a standard 2X miles per dollar on everything!  For the $1000 that he needed to spend to get the 40,000 points, he earned 2,000 points – total was 42,000 after the $1000 minimum spend and a waived fee.

Barclaycard-Arrival-Offer

Additionally, when you redeem your points, you get credited back to your account 10% of the miles you redeemed.  Finally, with your card you are given a complimentary Tripit Pro subscription.  This is the premium version of Tripit which organizes all your travel.  The extra features that Pro provides is:

  • organize and share your itineraries
  • tracks your mileage and travel reward programs
  • receive instant flight alerts on your phone
  • find out when you’re eligible for a flight refund
  • sync with your calendar

If you are interested in this credit card, here is a link for you to follow.  I do not receive any compensation for recommending any of these credit cards.  They are just what is in my wallet and that I use.

3 thoughts on “Barclay’s Arrival World MasterCard

  1. Good morning Jane,

    I just wanted to relay something that I learned over the past couple of days that might be of use to your readers.

    Being the points hoarder that I am, I have travel points with many different companies (United, American, Chase Ultimate Rewards (Ink Card), Marriott, Hilton, etc.). I wanted to book award travel over the long Presidents Day weekend to visit my dad in Missouri.

    Being the frugal traveler that I am, I searched all my different point sources for the best deal on round trip airfare, starting with United as that is the brand to which I am most loyal. For the dates that I wanted to travel, United offered economy saver awards totaling 25,000 miles. Great!, I thought as saver availability during the holiday weekend may have been hard to come by. Next I checked American Airlines. Same deal with them, 25,000 miles for round trip airfare from DCA to MCI.

    About six months ago I applied for an was approved for the Chase Ink business card that offered 50,000 miles in the Chase Ultimate Rewards program. One of the things that I liked about the program is that I could transfer the miles 1 for 1 to other programs such as United or Marriott. I hadnt done that yet, so the miles are still sitting in my Ultimate Reward Account.

    I was pretty sure that United and American was giving me the best deal on rewards travel, but I decided to check airfare on the Ultimate Rewards site anyway. You can imagine my surprise when a search revealed round trip airfare DCA-MCI for 11,040 miles on Frontier Airlines, a mere 44% of what the majors were asking through their programs. I realized that Ultimate Rewards searched award availability on many different airlines, finding the best deal possible. I was able to get a rental car with very few points as well through the Ultimate Rewards site. I was thankful that I had not transferred my miles to United. Instead, this got me to thinking of ways to transfer miles TO Ultimate Rewards!

    Now some of you savvy Frontier flyers will note that due to Frontiers new policy of charging for carry-on luggage might outweigh the low points fare that I had to pay. Any ticket purchased in Basic Economy, unless purchased on Frontier.com, has to pay a minimum of $25. I did a flight search on the Frontier website and the fare I was quoted on the Ultimate Rewards site was indeed a Basic Fare. However, when ticketed through the Ultimate Rewards website, it was upgraded to standard economy which allows free carry-on luggage, so I will not incur and luggage fees.

    Moral of the story, sorry United, I may start checking with Ultimate Rewards first when booking award travel!

    Gabe

Leave a Reply

