Bluebird and free checks 1/1/2014

I’ve shared with you a few times my love of Vanilla Reloads (VR)  and AmEx Bluebird (BB).  For those of you who are new to this blog, you can go to this site to read up on it in more detail but very quickly VRs are a transfer means. What I do is to go into a store that sells VRs and they MUST look like this:   Load them

Must look like this
Must look like this

up to $500 each with my credit card that I am either trying to meet the minimum spend on for the sign up points or a credit card that I am trying to get more points on.  I then transfer the money that is on the VR to my Bluebird (BB) and I am able to do it online in the comfort of my home.  Once the money is in my BB account, then I can pay bills electronically.  BB advertisers itself as a debit and checking alternative.

bluebird

Last spring BB introduced free checks.   To use one of BBs checks, you enter the check information on the BB site.  Basically what BB does is preauthorize the check amount and they debit it from your balance.  You can never be in an overdraft position because the check has to be pre-authorized.  This is also handy because some payees do not accept credit card payments (IRS, anything I pay at City Hall, church donations, etc).

You can order free checks now until January 1, 2014.  You have a choice of 50 or 100 checks and since they are free, I would order 100 checks.

bluebird checks

If you go to the VR site you will find a list of stores that supposedly sell VRs.  Now I say supposedly because WalMart is listed and as far as I know they have never sold VRs.  Click on all the stores because there are many names that I did not recognize them but they were the “holding company” and some of their stores were ones that I was aware of and had shopped at.

Do you use Bluebird and Vanilla Reloads?

4 thoughts on “Bluebird and free checks 1/1/2014

  1. Could you update the information about buying gift cards with credit cards? I think it changes all the time. For instance, CVS stop selling Vanilla reloads with CC. I went to a gas station and same thing. I used to go to a Simon shopping mall where they were selling Visa gift cards with a $3 fee. They didn’t have any cards and didn’t know when they were going to have them. The clerk also volunteered that there has been a “scheme” with miles going on. I chose not to argue and left it like that.

  2. I use VR and Bluebird, but I’m finding VRs increasingly difficult to get. Many retailers who sell them won’t take a CC as payment. But I keep searching and trying!

Leave a Reply

