The Beginning

It’s happened.  I’ve succumbed to peer pressure.  I’m joining the world of bloggers…travel bloggers to be more precise.  I’m a novice at traveling but have learned so much since I began less than three years ago and I’m learning more and more every day.  I’d love to share what I have learned with you as well as learning from you and your experiences.

I love to travel and that discovery is recent.   I had taken many cruises in the Caribbean and  don’t REALLY consider that foreign travel.  I was happy with that till my husband suggested we taken a river cruise down the Rhine a few years ago. I had never been to Europe unless you count our honeymoon in Ireland decades ago as Europe.   As excited as I was, I was also a little intimidated.  I would be in several countries where other languages were spoken.  How could I manage?  Would I be able to read a menu, find a restroom, navigate the streets and public transportation and finally ask for help when we needed it?  Would I need special clothing?  Luckily I was with my husband who was more comfortable than I was with foreign travel.

Happily that trip was a success and it instilled in me a burning desire to do more travel.  Enough so that both Blogger Hubby and myself sat down and made out our individual Bucket Lists.  In some ways I was fortunate that Blogger Husband had done some foreign travel before he met me as well as with his job so we are focusing on doing some of my bucket list countries first.

I have learned how to do some research in where to go, less expensive alternatives, what to do, how to travel for a fraction of the cost and how to meet others.  I can now say that I have many more friends now from travels that I did 3 years ago. My tips and tricks are for all ages so come on this journey with me.  If you think you might be interested, click on Subscribe by Email.

”Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” – Mark Twain

WorldMapOutline_Upload

4 thoughts on “The Beginning

  1. Some of our friends have begun to travel (now that they’ve retired) and we’re also thinking of planning a trip before long. ~ We’ve been on a cruise to the Carribean & to Aruba. Loved both places. We’ve seen the pics & blogs of the trips that you’ve taken Jane.. ~ We do have one problem. Hubby (Phil) is not in the best of health. He tires very easily, but he truly wants to travel. Maybe you know of something that would fit into our laid back schedule, ~ He would love to go to Alaska. We will be following your blog Jane!

Leave a Reply

